What are Chakras?

Chakras is Sanskrit for "Wheels," and Sanskrit is an ancient language in India. Chakras are subtle energy lines, centers or "spinning wheels" within the human body that help regulate on a physical, emotional and spiritual level.  The Seven chakras are lines throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency and color just like light frequency and the rainbow!

Before we get into the nitty gritty of each chakra, you have to understand that EVERYTHING is energy.  The ground is energy, the ocean is energy and You are energy.  When your energy centers are at their best, you are emotionally, physically, and spiritually balanced.

When exploring the chakras, it’s best to start at the ground and work your way up. Below is a list of each chakra, starting with the base of the spine and moving to the top of your head. Given is the chakra name, location, color, function and gemstones that I use when I mindfully craft for Chakras & Seas.

Root Chakra or Muladhara (1st) — Base of the spine; Red; governs survival, security, and grounding, Red Jasper

Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana (2nd) — Lower abdomen; Orange; governs sexuality, joy and emotions, Carnelian

Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura  (3rd) — Upper abdomen; Yellow; governs self esteem, confidence and courage, Citrine and Yellow Jade

Heart Chakra or Anahata (4th) — Center of the chest; Green and Pink; governs compassion, love and gratitude,  Green Aventurine and Moss Agate

Throat Chakra or Vishuddha (5th) — Throat; Light Blue; governs communication, self expression and inner freedom, Turquoise or Sodalite

Third Eye Chakra or Ajna 6th) — Between the eyes; Indigo; governs imagination, clarity, and intuition, Lapis Lazuli

Crown Chakra or Sahaswara (7th) — Top of the head; Purple; governs consciousness, spirituality and beliefs, Amethyst

Lets face it, we do not live in a perfect world.  Our bodies are constantly fluctuating with good AND bad vibes.  In order to restore or maintain healthy chakras, energy healing should be a part of your daily wellness routine.  Here is a list of some great options:

  • Reiki
  • Conscious breathing
  • Chakra meditation
  • Acupressure and acupuncture
  • Yoga
  • Aromatherapy
  • Chakra gemstones

    Of course you know I like my Chakra gemstones!  When used with Reiki, the gemstones are placed on your body to absorb negative energy and raise your vibration to balance.

    Chakras & Seas works the same way!  My jewelry is made with genuine gemstones and Lava.  Amp it up a notch and try the vibrational layering effect by adding essential oils to any of the porous beads.  That makes it Aromatherapy jewelry!!

    If this is too deep of a reading, no worries!  Wear the jewelry, and let the therapeutic properties of the gemstones help heal the mind, body and spirit.

    Jennifer @ Chakas & Seas